Gansu Overview

Chinese Name: English IPA: Location: Population (city): Language: Zip code: Tel code: Time zone:

Gansu (甘肃 )is a landlocked province of the People’s Republic of China, located in the northwest of the country. Its capital and largest city is Lanzhou, located in the southeast part of the province.

The seventh-largest administrative district by area at 453,700 square kilometres (175,200 sq mi), Gansu lies between the Tibetan and Loess plateaus, and borders Mongolia (Govi-Altai Province), Inner Mongolia, and Ningxia to the north, Xinjiang and Qinghai to the west, Sichuan to the south, and Shaanxi to the east. The Yellow River passes through the southern part of the province. Part of Gansu’s territory is located in the Gobi desert. The Qilian mountains are located in the south of the Province.