Saga County Attractions

Natural Scenery

Due to the special location, the terrain in Saga County is higher in north than east. Mt. Kailash is standing in northwest and Himalaya Mountain Range is standing in south part of Saga County. There are over tens of small lakes in this area and 6 hot-springs. Rujao Hot-spring is the most famous as it is shade of a bowl with 30 square meters scale, and it is said to be helpful to many common disease such as stomachache, dermatosis, and arthritis.

 Dajia Lake (打加错) is a lake in Saga County ,Shigatse Prefecture of the Tibet Autonomous Region of China. It is located about half way between Lake Peiku and Zhari Namco, northeast of Saga.

Yarlung Zangbo River(雅鲁藏布江) originates from Jiema Yangzong Glacier(杰马央宗冰川) in Zhongba County(仲巴县) in the northern foothills of the Himalayas. It is the first great river in Tibet, which looks like a silver dragon. Originated from the Northern Slope of the middle Himalayas, Yarlung Zangbo River which is more than 6,000 meters above the sea level flows from west to east on the south of the famous Tibetan plateau. The main streams of Yarlung Zangbo River changes along the course of natural conditions, river valley form and runoff, its basic features can be summed up in ten words: high, mighty, deep, smooth, quiet, long, dangerous, low, unique and elegant. Yarlung Zangbo River can be divided into river source area, upstream, midstream and downstream.

Cultural Scenery

The cultural scenery in Saga County are mainly Nugong Monastery, Tuqing Monastery, Buzha Monastery, Kuyu Monasterya nd Dajiling Monastery.

Nugong Monastery(努贡寺), located in the southeast of Saga County, Shigatse, Tibetan Autonomous Region, is 104 kilometers away from the county seat. The monastery built in 1182 AD is the Tibetan Buddhist monastery of Nyingma sect(宁玛派).

Tuqing Monastery(土庆寺): Located in the east of Saga County, Shigatse, Tibetan Autonomous Region, Tuqing Monastery(土庆寺) is 140 kilometers from the county seat. It was constructed in 1542 and is a monastery of the Gelug sect(土庆寺) of Tibetan Buddhism.

Buzha Monastery(布扎寺) which is 45 kilometers from the county seat is located in Xiongru Town(雄如乡), the southern part of Saga County, Shigatse, Tibet Autonomous Region. It was built in 1780 AD and is a Tibetan Buddhist monastery of Gelug sect(格鲁派).

Kuyu Monastery(库郁寺) is a Tibetan Buddhist monastery of Kagyu sect(噶举派), located in Kuyu Village(库郁村), Changguo Town(昌果乡), Saga County(萨嘎县), Shigatse of Tibetan Autonomous Region.

Dajiling Monastery(达吉岭寺) is located in the north of Saga County, 35 kilometers away from the county seat. The monastery of Gelug sect(格鲁派) in Tibetan Buddhism which was founded in 1729 AD is one of the sub-temples of the Jokhang Monastery(大昭寺) in Lhasa.