Mountains in Tibet

There are many famous high mountains in Tibet, which constitute the basic skeleton of the plateau topography and are also the center of the ancient and modern glaciers. The peaks of mountains with an altitude above 5000 meters, are perennially covered with snow. Glaciers have develop widely among the mountains after decades. The mountain ranges of Tibet can be divided into east-west mountain ranges and south-north mountain ranges. The east-west mountains are Himalayan Mountains, Gangdise- Nyenchen Tanglha Mountains, Kara Kunlun- Tanggula Mountains and Kunlun Mountains. Meanwhile, the south-north mountain range refers to Hengduan Mountains. The mountain ranges are mainly spreaded in arc, spanning in the middle and narrowing at the ends.

List of Main Mountains in Tibet

High Mountains Altitude
Mount Everest 8844.43 meters
Lhotse Peak 8516 meters
Makalu Peak 8485 meters
Cho Oyu 8201 meters
Broad Peak 8051 meters
Shisha Pangma 8027 meters
Namcha Barwa 7782 meters
Gurla Mandhata 7694 meters
Changtse 7543 meters
Gang Benchem 7295 meters
Jiala Balri 7294 meters
Noiji Kangsang 7206 meters
Nyenchen Tanglha 7162 meters
Loinbo Kangri 7095 meters
Qungmoganze 7048 meters
Ulugh Muztagh 6973 meters
Kaluxung/Kalurong 6674 meters
Yarlashampo 6635 meters
Sirengou I 6650 meters
Mount Kailash 6638 meters
Zangser Kangri 6540 meters
Tagchagpuri 6430 meters
Pulha Ri 6404 meters
Gondya 6423 meters
Toze Kangri 6371 meters
Kangzhangri 6305 meters
Naji Kangsha 6106 meters
Manamcho 6264 meters
Zangchen 5538 meters
Gyaphelri 5249 meters
Bumpari 4298 meters