G6 Beijing–Lhasa Expressway in Tibet

The Beijing-Tibet Expressway (Chinese: 北京-西藏高速公路; pinyin: Běijīng-Xīzàng gāosù gōnglù), commonly abbreviated to Jingzang Expressway (Chinese: 京藏高速), also known as Beijing-Lhasa Expressway (Jingla Expressway; Chinese: 京拉高速公路) or China National Expressway 6, is part of the Chinese national expressway network and is planned to connect the nation’s capital, Beijing, to the capital of the Tibet Autonomous Region, Lhasa.

It passes through a total of seven China’s administrative regions, including the Beijing municipality, the province of Hebei, the autonomous regions of Inner Mongolia and Ningxia, the provinces of Gansu and Qinghai, and finally the Tibet Autonomous Region.



G6 Expressway at the interchange with the Fifth Ring Road in northern Beijing.

Beginning from Beijing and driving southwest to Lhasa, The expressway runs approximately 3,710 kilometres (2,310 miles) through Hebei, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Gansu and Qinghai, for a total of seven provincial-level divisions.[clarification needed] Excluding the two terminal points, it passes through the major cities of Zhangjiakou, Jining District, Hohhot, Bayannur, Wuhai, Yinchuan, Wuzhong, Baiyin, Lanzhou, Xining and Golmud.[clarification needed]

As of August 2010, just over fifty percent of the expressway is open to traffic, which mainly comprises the stretch between Beijing and Xining. Like China National Highway 109 and the Qingzang railway, it is expected to pass west through Golmud before heading southwest into Tibet and Lhasa. Because of climatic conditions, this stretch of the expressway does not yet have a construction timetable.[2]

The G6 merges with the G7 in Huhhot and does not split until Linhe.

China Expwy G6 sign with name.svg

Beijing–Lhasa Expressway

Jingzang Expressway

The current Beijing–Lhasa Expressway is highlighted in red. The portion between Golmud and Lhasa, highlighted in purple, is still in planning and not constructed.

G6 signage leaving Beijing
Route information
Part of 
Length 3,710 km[1] (2,310 mi)

Length when complete.
Major junctions
East end 3rd Ring Road, Xicheng, BJ
  •  G4501 in Changping, BJ
  •  G7 in Changping, BJ
  •  G7 in Zhangjiakou, HE
  •  G95 (S) in Zhangjiakou, HE
  •  G95 (N) in Zhangjiakou, HE
  •  G7 in Zhangjiakou, HE
  •  G55 in Ulanqab, NM
  •  G7 in Ulanqab, NM
  •  G7 / G0601 (E / NE) in Hohhot, NM
  •  G0601 (NW) in Hohhot, NM
  •  G65 in Baotou, NM
  •  G7 (W) in Bayannur, NM
  •  G18 in Wuhai, NM
  •  G0601 in Yinchuan, NX
  •  G20 in Yinchuan, NX
  •  G70 (N) in Yinchuan, NX
  •  G2012 (E) in Wuzhong, NX
  •  G2012 (W) in Wuzhong, NX
  •  G70 (S) in Wuzhong, NX
  •  G30 (N) in Lanzhou, GS
  •  G30 (S) in Lanzhou, GS
  •  G3001 in Lanzhou, GS
  •  G0612 in Xining, QH
  •  G0612 in Xining, QH
  •  G0613 in Xining, QH
  •  G0615 (E) in Delingha, QH
  •  G0615 (W) in Delingha, QH
  •  G3011 in Golmud, QH
West end  G109 in Golmud, QH (current)
Lhasa, XZ (when complete)
Highway system
National Trunk Highway System

  • Primary
  • Auxiliary
  • China National Highways
  • Transport in China
←   G5   G7   →