South Tibet

South Tibet is located in the south of the Himalayas in the southeast of the Tibet autonomous region of the People’s Republic of China, mainly covering the Shannan prefecture and Nyingchi prefecture. It includes most of the county area of Cona(错那), Lhunze(隆子), Medog(墨脱), Zayu(察隅) and a few of the two counties of Nang(郎县) and Mainling(米林). In summer, it is facing the southwest monsoon with a large amount of moisture and heat from the Indian Ocean. It is warm and rainy here, with an average annual precipitation of more than 9000 mm. It is one of the regions with the largest precipitation in the world, reputed as the “Little Jiangnan in Tibet”.