Gawu La Mountain Pass in Tingri County, Shigatse

Gawu La Mountain Pass(加乌拉山口) is located in Tingri County, Shigatse Geu la Pass situated at the Tingri County, between the Che village and Tashizom village. Gaura Pass is a pass to the Mount Everest base camp of 5,210 meters above sea level after entering the Mount Qomolangma National Nature Reserve. Here you can view the four 8,000-meter snow peaks (from left to right, the order is: Makalu Peak, Luozi Peak, Qomolangma Peak, Zhuo Aoyou Peak). In this sense, the largest observation platform in China is not the Niubei Mountain, but the Gaura Mountain Pass.

Gawula pass is one of the most beautiful mountain passes in Tibet to see the beauties of five mountain above 8000 meters.

The five snow mountains :

Mount Everest (8844 meters, 29002ft)
Mount Makalu (8463 meters, 27825ft)
Mount Lhotse (8516meters, 27940ft)
Mount Cho Oyu (8188 meters, 26906 ft) and finally
Mount Shishapangma (8027 meters, 26289ft) This is the best view scenic point of Mount Everest North face.

From the summit of Gawu la pass, there is approximately 90km to the Rongbuk monastery, final viewpoint area of Mount Everest.

There is nearly 500km from Gawula pass to Lhasa city and around 220km to Shigatse city.

Nearest City

Shigatse city
Shigatse is the main city of Tingri County. It is the second-largest city after Lhasa.

Nearest Towns

Tingri town (Also known as Gangkar, Old Tingri)
Pelber town (Near the Shegar, New Tingri)
Lhatse town
Nearest Hospitals

Tashizom village clinic
New Tingri Shegar town hospital
Lhatse town hospital
Shigatse city hospital
Nearest Villages

Tashizom village (My elder brother’s village)
Chey village (Near the checkpoint of Mount Everest National Park)
Pasum village (This is my village. My mother and brother’s family are at Pasum.)
Choezom village ( Mount Everest non-pollution Eco bus park is located near Choezom village.)