Administrative Divisions

Being regarded as the “Roof of the world”, Tibet is divided into one municipality and six prefectures, with Lhasa its municipality and ShigatseNgariShannanChamdoNagqu as well as Nyingchi. These in turn are subdivided into a total of 66 counties and 8 districts (Chengguan, Doilungdeqen, Dagze, Samzhubze, Karub, Bayi, Nedong, and Seni). Below is a brief introduction.


Altitude: 3650m

Area: 554 square km

Districts: Chengguan DistrictDoilungdeqen DistrictDagze DistrictLhunzhub CountyDamxung CountyNyemo CountyQuxu CountyMaizhokunggar County

Famous Attractions: Potala Palace, Jokhang Temple, Barkhor Street, Sera Monastery, Drepung Monastery, Ganden Monastery


Altitude: 3836m

Area: 3,875 square km 

Districts: Samzhubze DistrictGyirong CountyTingri CountyZhongba CountyRinbung County,Gyangze County,Kangmar County,Nyalam CountyXaitongmoin County,Ngamring County,Lhaze County,Namling County,Dinggye County,Saga County,Sa’gya County,Gamba County,Yadong County,Bainang County

Famous Attractions: Everest Base Camp(5200m), Rongbuk Monastery, Tashilhunpo Monastery, Sakya Monastery, Palcho Monastery


Altitude: 4500m

Area: 304 thousand square km

Districts: Gerze County, Rutog County, Gar County, Gegyai County, Coqen County, Burang County, Zanda County

Famous Attractions: Mt. Kailash, Lake Manasarovar, Tholing Monastery, Ruins of the Guge Kingdom, Pangong Tso Lake, Tsada Clay Forest


Altitude: 3600m

Area: 7,97 square km

Districts: Nedong District,Gonggar County,Lhunze County,Gyaca County,Cona County,Qonggyai County,Nagarze County,Comai County,Lhozhag County,Qusum County,Zhanang County,Sangri County

Famous Attractions: Samye Monastery, Yamdrok Lake, Yumbulagang Palace, Trundruk Monastery


Altitude: 3500m

Area: 110 thousand square km

Districts: Karub District, Dengqen County, Zhagyab County, Gonjo County, Lhorong County, Banbar County, Riwoqe County, Baxoi County, Zogang County, Markam County, Jomda County

Famous Attractions: Rawok Lake, Ancient Tea-horse Route, Laigu Glacier, Galden Jampaling Monastery


Altitude: 4500m

Area: 450,537 square km

Districts: Seni DistrictBaingoin County, Shuanghu County, Sog County, Nyima County, Amdo County, Baqen County, Biru County, Lhari County, Nyainrong County, Xainza County

Famous Attractions: Namtso Lake, Changtang PlateaoYangbajain hot spring, Tibetan nomads


Altitude: 3000m

Area: 116,175 square km

Districts: Bayi District, Nang County, Bome County, Mainling County, Medog County, Zayu County, Gongbogyamda County

Famous Attractions: Basum Tso Lake, Namjagbarwa Peak, Lulang Forest, Midui Glacier, Huge Cypress Nature Reserve, Cherry Blossom Festival